• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

    You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

[Modset4.2] Open BrawlBox/Lib Development Thread [PW's SSS support(PAT0 editing)]

Kryal

Smash Ace
Joined
May 28, 2009
Messages
560
The rebuilder partially worked. It could rebuild everything except materials and shaders. The encoders for that are available as well.

The engine had to be redone to accommodate for skins and weights, which is why it took to long. The pieces are there, just not put together. On the plus side the Collada exporter worked very well.
 

RandomTBush

Smash Ace
Joined
Aug 10, 2009
Messages
889
Location
Donut Plains
The rebuilder partially worked. It could rebuild everything except materials and shaders. The encoders for that are available as well.

The engine had to be redone to accommodate for skins and weights, which is why it took to long. The pieces are there, just not put together. On the plus side the Collada exporter worked very well.
Ah, yes. BrawlBox's Collada exporter works really well, even though I have to open the DAEs in Maya and export them to FBX before I can use them in 3DS Max. I was also relieved when it didn't have the rigging/polygon errors for Shaymin or Porygon-Z for example, and it can even export models that AiS couldn't (such as the Alloys or anything from Tatsunoko vs. Capcom).

Thank you so much for that! :)
 

Bero

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
409
Location
Japan
I've just finished making AI editor(it isn't very useful though).

As pokelover said, SZS modifier can convert obj to mdl0.
So I have wanted to study obj, but are there any difference between mario kart to SSBB?
I have become uneasy because Kryal has said it is hard to import models.
 

Kryal

Smash Ace
Joined
May 28, 2009
Messages
560
Converting from .OBJ files is really only useful for static items like stages (which is mostly what SZS is for I believe). The reason why skinned models are so difficult is because of the weights.

.OBJ itself is very simple, but lacks many features that FBX/DAE provide. Do a search for 'wavefront obj' in google and you'll find a few good specs.

The model versions aren't that much different, they are just laid out differently. What you want to look at is the section offsets on the main MDL0 header. Compare them to the SSBB layout and put them in the right order. I've never done this so there might be more to it.
 

GP&B

Ike 'n' Ike
Joined
May 8, 2009
Messages
4,609
Location
Orlando, FL
NNID
MetalDude
From what I've seen, OBJ is a transition format which can be used to convert from many different model formats and back into MDL0. However, they aren't rigged so you can't animate any bones. Basically, they're plausible if you're looking for something that won't need to be animated (a weapon or stage object).
 

Bero

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
409
Location
Japan
Pharrox has returned and he said he is working even now.
So, I can try it individually.(even if I failed, Pharrox will make model importing realistic)
 

[TSON]

Hella.
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
3,422
Location
Macomb, MI
NNID
oTSONo
Meanwhile, can you add STDT (MiscData[20] usually -- Stage Data) support?

The first 20 bytes are always the same (because it's the header lol).
Code:
53544454 00000001 00000000 00000000 
00000014
Then, the stage-specific data starts. It's either in Float or in Hex.

It'd be very nice to be able to edit in BB <3

What'd be really sexy is if you could make Brawlbox read from an external text file to pull up the names for the data for the stage that's open, Smash Attacks style. Do you think that you could do that? If you can't, that's fine.
 

Bero

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
409
Location
Japan
Meanwhile, can you add STDT (MiscData[20] usually -- Stage Data) support?

The first 20 bytes are always the same (because it's the header lol).
Code:
53544454 00000001 00000000 00000000 
00000014
Then, the stage-specific data starts. It's either in Float or in Hex.

It'd be very nice to be able to edit in BB <3

What'd be really sexy is if you could make Brawlbox read from an external text file to pull up the names for the data for the stage that's open, Smash Attacks style. Do you think that you could do that? If you can't, that's fine.
Yeah, of course. AI editor is also Smash Attacks like.
So, making Smash Attacks style control is not too hard for me.

EDIT
STDT is Stage Trap Data Table, right?
 

[TSON]

Hella.
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
3,422
Location
Macomb, MI
NNID
oTSONo
Looks like the BRSTM player in the Modset is broken, unless you move the navigation arrow before playing.

Also Bero, I think you misunderstood me when I said Smash Attacks style. I meant, you see how in the fields, they are labeled? I was asking if you could pull the labels for the fields from a text file so that we can label the floats for each stage by ourselves.
 

Hagelt18

Smash Rookie
Joined
Jun 28, 2010
Messages
2
Hello. just introducing myself in the thread. I just finished two years of school for programming and am now currently working as a .net programmer. I mostly work with C#, but I am familiar with C++ and VB as well. I hope I can help contribute to the needs of the brawl hacking community where I can.
 

Bero

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
409
Location
Japan
@TheSilenceOfNoOne
BRSTM player seems not to have any bugs. Could you be more specific?
Also I thought that you asked me if I can make interface like Smash Attacks.
Now, I can understand you are hoping to name variables yourself. But is that all? Don't you want Smash Attacks like interface?

@Hagelt18
Welcome to this thread ! Added to list.
 

Bero

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
409
Location
Japan
@Dantarion
Added.
Because no one is interested in AI, I decided not to upload BrawlBox with AI editor now(that will be in next Modset). With Kryal's support, analyzing has been finished.
Also, I don't know meaning of each variables(like "Offensive collision" "Synchronizing timer",etc in Smash Attacks). Looking into it will be collaboration and painful.
 

[TSON]

Hella.
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
3,422
Location
Macomb, MI
NNID
oTSONo
I could and will definitely help explain anything that you don't understand about PSA.

Offensive collision is a "hitbox".
Synchronous timers are counters that count from the last timer, and then executes what's after it on the next frame. So for example:

Asynchronous timer: 1
Offensive Collision
Synchronous timer: 3
Terminate Collisions

Would be spawning a hitbox on frame two, and then deleting it on frame 6.
 

tehshyguy

Smash Rookie
Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
16
is c# program software free after registering? I just want to know if i should learn from the tutorials before (if its a 30 day trial still) or during/after (if its perm. free after registration) dl it.
 

Bero

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
409
Location
Japan
@TheSilenceOfNoOne
Thank you, but I can understand PSA...
I meant, I couldn't understand meaning of variables in AI files.
 

NO@H

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jul 11, 2009
Messages
279
is c# program software free after registering? I just want to know if i should learn from the tutorials before (if its a 30 day trial still) or during/after (if its perm. free after registration) dl it.
this is free
 

[TSON]

Hella.
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
3,422
Location
Macomb, MI
NNID
oTSONo
@TheSilenceOfNoOne
Thank you, but I can understand PSA...
I meant, I couldn't understand meaning of variables in AI files.
Oh. You mean the numerical equivalents? (Like Nop is 00020000 and asynchronous timer is 00020100??)
 

Bero

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
409
Location
Japan
@TheSilenceOfNoOne
Yes, you're right.
When I edited it, mario started dash dancing suddenly:(
 

Dantarion

Smash Champion
Joined
May 21, 2007
Messages
2,492
Location
Santa Barbara, CA
Bero, I got this one.
I can write a editor for the AI if you let me see the work youve done so far.
I want to at least get a viewer done.
 

Bero

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
409
Location
Japan
Ah,thanks for your offer,but editor has already been done.
All we need to do is to understand meaning of each variables. We can change them randomly but analyzing using USB Gecko is more helpful than that.
Are there anyone who can do that except for you?
 

Dantarion

Smash Champion
Joined
May 21, 2007
Messages
2,492
Location
Santa Barbara, CA

Bero

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
409
Location
Japan
@Dantarion
Why didn't you tell me that you're working on this (I thought you were waiting for other man's work)!
Well, please let me participate.
 

tehshyguy

Smash Rookie
Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
16
Noob question...how do i add coding to brawl lib so i can test it myself?...

edit: you can add me to the list too if it's ok =p....
 

shanus

Smash Hero
Joined
Nov 17, 2005
Messages
6,055
@Dantarion
Why didn't you tell me that you're working on this (I thought you were waiting for other man's work)!
Well, please let me participate.
make an account on smashmods.com and PM me on it, i'll add you to the PMBR and it'll list all of our IRC info and etc while we work on stuff like this!
 

Bero

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
409
Location
Japan
Sent you PM.

You guys can use USB Gecko very well, can't you?
I lost my nerve a little
 

Bero

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
409
Location
Japan
I agree.
I want to be a user who can use USB Gecko well. Seriously.
 

Dantarion

Smash Champion
Joined
May 21, 2007
Messages
2,492
Location
Santa Barbara, CA
I can help you do stuff, its just hard.
I am going to start live-streaming my screen when im hacking, I just gotta get my double monitor+tv setup up.

Also, if you have a BrawlBox version with AIPD editing done, id love to see it, and the source.
 

Dantarion

Smash Champion
Joined
May 21, 2007
Messages
2,492
Location
Santa Barbara, CA
<--is hyped

EVERYTHINGS BETTER WHEN WE WORK TOGETHER!

EDIT:Received and loving it!

Notes:
For the CE ID's, the first bit is thrown away by the game. So, instead of displaying 0x8030 in ai_common's CE section, you should display 30 and display the first bit as a seperate bool toggle. Not sure what its for though.

It makes them fit in a pattern in terms of usage.
20 - Get on same platform
40 - Walk up to you
50 - Jump!
60 - Dash up to you
70 - Shield+Roll
80 - Gets on the other side of you
1010 - Stick toward?(Meta used Down b to approach with this)
1020 - Stick toward
1030 - Stick towards (Did not change platforms)
1040 - Stand still (Meta used Side B though)
1050 - Get on same platform (Olimar did NOT do this)
1060 - Same platform or under(Olimar went under)
1070 - Jump repeatedly (No R or L, just double jumping till out of jumps)
1080 - Same platform, or DIRECTLY UNDER (Olimar still didn't want to jump. INSANE perfect dashdance on either side of target)
1090 - Same as above?
10A0 - Character specific stuff
10D0 - Nothing?
1120
1130 - Marth did netral B offstage with this?
1140 - Follow Offstage (For edgeguarding?)
1160 - MK spammed down b
1170 - Follow to end of ledge? (For edgeguarding?)
2010 - Jump Recovery (Edge)
2020 - Side+B Recovery [All Chars]
2030 - Jump Recovery (Land on Stage)
2040 - Recovery [Character Specific]
3020 - Premptive Shield?
3090 - Walk in range?(Not too close though)
30A0 - Spotdodge
30B0 - Dodge when attacked
30D0 - Airdodge when attacked
6030 - Rapid Attack
6040 - Attack
 

Bero

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
409
Location
Japan
Oh, I didn't realize your edit!
I wasn't sure if second miscdata was condition evaluation, but is it true?
And how did you make the list? Using USB Gecko? If so, awesome!

EDIT
Do you have enums of SubAction?
I'd like to use that to display names of ATKD.
 

Bero

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
409
Location
Japan
I want to talk with you about CE more.
In AIPD type2 entry,unknown5 is similar to CE entry's ID sometimes.
Do you think these values relate each other?
 

Dantarion

Smash Champion
Joined
May 21, 2007
Messages
2,492
Location
Santa Barbara, CA
Oh, I didn't realize your edit!
I wasn't sure if second miscdata was condition evaluation, but is it true?
And how did you make the list? Using USB Gecko? If so, awesome!

EDIT
Do you have enums of SubAction?
I'd like to use that to display names of ATKD.
Yep, I can force the AI into any of the CE states.

Subaction names...all the ones above this are character
http://svn.dantarion.com/opensa2/OpenSA2/OpenSALib/Resources/SubactionNames.txt

I want to talk with you about CE more.
In AIPD type2 entry,unknown5 is similar to CE entry's ID sometimes.
Do you think these values relate each other?
PROBABLY. I was trying to link these together.
ATKD I understand 100%, but the other files are mysterious in terms of how they relate to each other
 

Bero

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jan 10, 2010
Messages
409
Location
Japan
Yep, I can force the AI into any of the CE states.

Subaction names...all the ones above this are character
http://svn.dantarion.com/opensa2/OpenSA2/OpenSALib/Resources/SubactionNames.txt


PROBABLY. I was trying to link these together.
ATKD I understand 100%, but the other files are mysterious in terms of how they relate to each other
That site requires sign in...

I watched your AI editing video. You changed all CE ID into specific one,right?
If not, how did you do that?

Also, where usually are you... I've looked for you in P:M channel, but no one was there...
 
Top Bottom