• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Toon Link's Match-up Discussion #28 - Ice Climbers

VietGeek

Smash Hero
Ice Climbers

Ratio: 60:40 Toon Link

Synopsis:
Coming like...when you believe.

Onward!

Pho

Smash Journeyman
Zair is a good spacing tool against ICs. It beats their forward B, which can rack of some damage if they land it on you. If you get Nana with a bair, keep bairing, since it doesn't DI. The longer you keep them seperated, the better.

Oh, and don't get grabbed, because you will die.

F00LY

Smash Apprentice
Don't get grabbed. Best advice ever. XD

I'm no pro, but I've been 0-to-Death grabbed plenty by some ICs, and gotten lucky enough to beat a few of them as well. My main friend in this matchup is bombs and platforms. I know we have a thread for CPs, but against them I'd do Rainbow Cruise or Battlefield, and bomb drop like no tomorrow. Run -> reverse bomb throw, SH bomb throws, z-drops with z-airs mixed in, all of which can do one of two things

Hit Popo giving you an OP to followup, or if you're lucky seperate them, even slightly the momentary deysnch will help. I don't find arrows very effective to me in this matchup at all either. Unless its like nAir to lag-cancel'd arrows for spacing/retreating. If they get inside your dead so just stay on the outside and you'll be okay.

Recovery just standard stuff...always land with a bomb in hand, or freshly z-dropped so you know you can retreat. If they start a CG off a recover'd landing, the bombs explosion will be your saviour.

copacetic

Smash Journeyman