• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Difference between American and European version of SSB64

NixxxoN

Smash Master
I played on console for a long time in the european version, and then i started playing online on the american version. Automatically my gameplay improved a lot and I started comboing like crazy.
The answer is, european version is slower than american version, for those who didnt notice it. 50 FPS/Hz to 60 FPS/Hz, due to PAL and NTSC different video systems.
This can make a HUGE difference. Everything runs slower and everything is harder to do.
I watched youtube vids of Isai and stuff and I was so impressed to the point to believe it was not possible to do. And I was right, a lot of stuff is not possible to do due to the slower timing.
When you are used to playing on the european game, you don't see many flashy stuff and combos, but more camping and more strategy, its like more similar to Brawl.
You european players did notice it?

House

Smash Journeyman
Less frames per second = Less time space for input = More basic gameplay.

You can, say, press A up to 60 times in one second at US ver., whereas you can only 50 times at EU ver.

NixxxoN

Smash Master
It is still a huge difference lol.

Your timing has to be about 15% faster so its more difficult to do everything.

Test it to see what I'm talking about.

malva00

Smash Master
PAL Link has the best horizontal recovery out of all 3 Links

Link travels farther through the air horizontally

NixxxoN

Smash Master
PAL Link has the best horizontal recovery out of all 3 Links

Link travels farther through the air horizontally
Yeah I knew that lol