• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Telestep Cancelling

perfectedidiot2

Smash Cadet
Thank's to the guys on the Wolf Social for their help

Okay I'm new at this so bear with me

Telestepping:
http://www.smashboards.com/showthread.php?t=164483

BSL Lag:
http://www.smashboards.com/showthread.php?t=235394

Ok we know that telestepping suffers from BSL lag so that your usually vulnerable after using it. However, through the use of hacks I've been able to experiment with telestepping in frame by frame and found an interesting frame as seen in this video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ff4yKbpgyJk

I like to refer to this as the hanging frame just cause of the way Wolf looks Anyways during the hanging frame wolf is considered to be airborne and as of such has all the options of an airborne character, double jump, b move, air attack etc. However, the window for a command input is very narrow as far as my testing shows it lasts only 1 frame and I can't seem to buffer it, so you need to be lightning fast.

So why use this? Well it offers Wolf a variety of new ledge options ranging from shine to fair to another side b, it keeps your opponent guessing. Another reason is to bypass BSL lag, though note that telestep cancelling does NOT zero lag it simply replaces the BSL lag with the lag of another action. There's still more to explore about this tech so many possibilities are still open.

Ishiey

Mother Wolf
BRoomer
Good stuff, PI. Much appreciated :)

Sucks that we can't buffer it though :( this basically confirms that telestepping should be the last thing anyone works on with wolf because of difficulty lol.

:059:

SelfPossessed

Smash Apprentice