• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

    You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

(Almas's) Clone Engine Code Generator (v1.1.1 now available!)

MagmarFire

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
267
Location
Michigan
NNID
MagmarFire
3DS FC
3737-9549-8452
Hmm, the asterisk thing is unexpected. I guess the program thinks he's using a slot that another character is using. What other characters do you have added so I can try fixing this problem?

That last thing is also a pretty okay idea, but I would like to reduce digit input as much as possible. C++'s input and output streams can get really touchy if you use them to assign a string to, say, an integer. I guess I could use number strings, but that's really not that much different structurally than what I have now. Changing all the if statements to match them (and since there are a bunch of characters, there are a lot of them) would be a pain.

The name-typing thing is the most efficient validation method I have because a user can put a theoretically-infinite number of characters in a string and not screw the program up. All I need to do is check to see if a name matches one that the program expects. If it doesn't, it tosses an error at the user.

Also, I kinda figured that not knowing the entire Brawl roster wouldn't be a problem as long as you know what characters' .PACs you're using. Using a list means that you would have to scroll through a (rather unordered) list to find him/her, which would be pretty frustrating if you can't see the name of the character you want amidst the numerous other character names. Here, you can just type in the name and be on your way.

Anyway, your post seems to hint that you really can have multiple button combos for each character. Did you get it to work?
 

Olikrom

Smash Cadet
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
39
Location
Phoenix, AZ
Hmm, the asterisk thing is unexpected. I guess the program thinks he's using a slot that another character is using. What other characters do you have added so I can try fixing this problem?
Brace yourself, this is going to be a long post. Captain Falcon, Falco, Ganondorf, Ike, Kirby, Link, Lucario, Mario, Marth, Ness, Peach, Pikachu, Samus, Sonic, Toon Link, Wolf, and Zelda. Here's my most recent code:

0657A000 00000110
61707461 0A00E27B
10001080 00000000
616C636F 1300E27B
10001080 00000000
616E6F6E 1400E27B
10001080 00000000
6172696F 0000E27B
10001080 00000000
61727468 1100E27B
10001080 00000000
65616368 0D00E27B
10001080 00000000
69726279 0600E27B
10001080 00000000
696E6B2F 0200E27B
10001080 00000000
6573732F 0B00E27B
10001080 00000000
696B6163 0800E27B
10001080 00000000
616D7573 0300E27B
10001080 00000000
6F6E6963 0E00E27B
10001080 00000000
6B652F46 2100E27B
10001080 00000000
75636172 2000E27B
10001080 00000000
6F6C662F 2500E27B
10001080 00000000
6F6F6E6C 2400E27B
10001080 00000000
656C6461 0E00E27B
10001080 00000000


Anyway, your post seems to hint that you really can have multiple button combos for each character. Did you get it to work?
Unfortunately not, but that doesn't mean I'm giving up on it. I've got a few more things I want to try first. Maybe I'll go read through Almas' topic to see if they have any ideas.
 

MagmarFire

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
267
Location
Michigan
NNID
MagmarFire
3DS FC
3737-9549-8452
Hmm, I'm not getting what you're getting. Do you remember what characters you put in before you put in Sonic?

Also, if you're using v1.1b, I recommend downloading the new patched v1.1.1 in the OP. There was a bug in the entity listing function that ended up forbidding Captain Falcon to be added.
 

Maverick-Pro

Smash Apprentice
Joined
Mar 27, 2010
Messages
84
Where does the .txt go? It doesn't seem to be generating the code at all when I am finished with the program after I press 4.
 

MagmarFire

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
267
Location
Michigan
NNID
MagmarFire
3DS FC
3737-9549-8452
The .txt appears in the same folder the program itself is in. You may want to make sure the program closes normally before you open the code file.
 

AceSe3don

Smash Ace
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
558
Location
Kuwait
In which folder should I put my character's files? It doesn't say that in there.
LUCARIO VS MEWTWO FTW!
 

MagmarFire

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
267
Location
Michigan
NNID
MagmarFire
3DS FC
3737-9549-8452
The file structure is basically the same as when you want to put in regular textures and .PACs in Brawl, only instead of the pf folder, you put it in the two-letter-name folder that you named yourself.

For instance, if you named your folder tb, it would be like this:

X:\\private\wii\app\RSBE\tb\fighter\*character name*
 

Maverick-Pro

Smash Apprentice
Joined
Mar 27, 2010
Messages
84
I don't think this is working. I set the Clone-code to L+R+A for my Classic Controller Pro, but as I use that to select a character, the same PSA and textures remain.
 

MagmarFire

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
267
Location
Michigan
NNID
MagmarFire
3DS FC
3737-9549-8452
What does your code look like? What folder name are you using? Are you making sure you're pressing L + R before A? What character are you trying to select? What does your directory look like?

Details, man! XD
 

Olikrom

Smash Cadet
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
39
Location
Phoenix, AZ
I don't think this is working. I set the Clone-code to L+R+A for my Classic Controller Pro, but as I use that to select a character, the same PSA and textures remain.
In my experience, I've noticed that the fewer buttons the code has, the better it works. Cut out either the L or R buttons with your activator and see if that does anything for you.
 

Vigilante

Smash Lord
Joined
Dec 11, 2010
Messages
1,813
Location
Quebec
If I may ask, does your code depend one just your FitMario.pac?

I have...
FitMario.Pac
Fit.Mario00.Pac
Same for 02
03
04
05
06
FitMario00.Pcs
Same for 02
03
04
05
06
FitMarioMotionEtc.Pac

Does that count as a single file value?

I got this code:
Alternate File Data
0657A000 00000010
6172696F 0000E27B
01c06d6c 00000000

It does't really work.

I was using a Doctor Mario PSA.

Fifth down this page: http://forums.kc-mm.com/Gallery/BrawlView.php#Page=3&Type=Character%Mario%

Oh yeah, I used a folder called lm and L+A on the GC controller
 

Ultraxwing

Smash Ace
Joined
Mar 4, 2010
Messages
615
Location
Peach Lover =3
I forgot all about this. but you can't fight characters against the same character. example. Lucario Vs Mewtwo is impossible for it just hot swaps the PSA'S or does it work? for a few of my friends tell me it causes issues. i would love to do this.

Also, did this How swap engine really work? i know it works, but i would love to see video representation. i would test it my self, but my wii is such a picky butt head. it's also old and is starting to lag out and die.
 

MagmarFire

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
267
Location
Michigan
NNID
MagmarFire
3DS FC
3737-9549-8452
If I may ask, does your code depend one just your FitMario.pac?

I have...
FitMario.Pac
Fit.Mario00.Pac
Same for 02
03
04
05
06
FitMario00.Pcs
Same for 02
03
04
05
06
FitMarioMotionEtc.Pac

Does that count as a single file value?

I got this code:
Alternate File Data
0657A000 00000010
6172696F 0000E27B
01c06d6c 00000000

It does't really work.

I was using a Doctor Mario PSA.

Fifth down this page: http://forums.kc-mm.com/Gallery/BrawlView.php#Page=3&Type=Character%Mario%

Oh yeah, I used a folder called lm and L+A on the GC controller
Yes, the engine only cares about the FitCharacter.pac, because that's where the moveset data is held. Everything else contains textures and bones.

I think I noticed where your problem lies, though: The "6D6C" part should be "6C6D". As an alternative, you could switch the letters in the name of the folder around, making it "ml". For some reason, the hex is backwards.

I'll have to look into this sometime. :S ...But at the same time, maybe you switched them around by accident during the initial running of the program.

I forgot all about this. but you can't fight characters against the same character. example. Lucario Vs Mewtwo is impossible for it just hot swaps the PSA'S or does it work? for a few of my friends tell me it causes issues. i would love to do this.

Also, did this How swap engine really work? i know it works, but i would love to see video representation. i would test it my self, but my wii is such a picky butt head. it's also old and is starting to lag out and die.
I dunno. This is something you'll need to bring up in the other thread. I'll link you to it.
 

toddtj

Smash Apprentice
Joined
Nov 9, 2009
Messages
186
I'm running into a problem with this program (or the code,I'm not sure which). I named my folder pz, my controller is GCN, my button combo is AZ, and I added entities for C.Falcon and Ganondorf--as far as I know, I entered all the information into the program properly and I put the generated code in the GCT properly. For some reason, I cannot get the alternate PSA I put in the pz folder to load. I do not get any freeze, or any other error--I just get my normal PSA that's in my pf folder.

Anyone have any idea why this is happening?
 

MagmarFire

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
267
Location
Michigan
NNID
MagmarFire
3DS FC
3737-9549-8452
I'll need to see the code that's generated before I can make any suggestions.
 

toddtj

Smash Apprentice
Joined
Nov 9, 2009
Messages
186
I'll need to see the code that's generated before I can make any suggestions.
My bad. Here you go:

Code:
Alternate File Loader [Almas]
C23FA350 00000020
90C20000 90E20004
91620008 90A2000C
90620010 91220014
91420018 9182001C
3D800004 618C86C0
3D60805A 3CA0452F
60A57066 90AB7C14
816B7C22 3C608057
60639FF0 84A30010
2C050000 4182008C
7C055800 4082FFF0
3CC04545 60C62F53
7C062800 4082001C
3D60804D 616BE4B0
A16B0000 A1430008
7C0A5800 41820050
88A30004 A1430008
39200000 A0C30006
64C68152 7CC66214
3CE0804D 60E7E4A8
39290001 7CCC3050
38E70008 2C090005
4182FF94 89660000
7C0B2800 4082FFE4
A1670000 7C0B5000
4082FFD8 A143000A
3D60805A B14B7C16
80C20000 80E20004
81620008 80A2000C
80620010 81220014
81420018 8182001C
8C040001 00000000

Alternate File Data
0657A000 00000020
61707461 0A00E27B
0190707a 00000000
616E6F6E 1400E27B
0190707a 00000000
 

MagmarFire

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
267
Location
Michigan
NNID
MagmarFire
3DS FC
3737-9549-8452
Hmm, well, as far as I can see, the code has no problems at all. With the given data, I can think of two possible reasons: (1) the pz file is in the wrong directory, or (2) the button combination is not getting registered as you select your character. I propose you check to see if the folder is in the right directory on your SD card, and if it is, I recommend that when you select your character, you hold down Z first and then press A. It's possible that A is getting pressed before Z even though you're pressing them "at the same time"; clock ticks inside a computer are really fast, after all.
 

SonicTheHedgehog02

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Apr 25, 2010
Messages
486
Location
Massachusetts
sorry for having a reply after several months, but I read this and didn't see anything for the wiimote+nunchuck, so I downloaded the older version just to test it out, and it didnt work. the file was za and i held down z then pressed a. then i released and pressed start to pick a stage then a on the stage. if you need my code, let me know.
 

MagmarFire

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
267
Location
Michigan
NNID
MagmarFire
3DS FC
3737-9549-8452
Nah, don't apologize; I appreciate people continuing to show interest in my work.

Anyway, unfortunately, the option for using button combinators for the Wiimote+Nunchuk combo was removed in a previous version because, as far as I know, Almas's code only works for the Classic Controller and the GameCube controller. :/
 

MagmarFire

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
267
Location
Michigan
NNID
MagmarFire
3DS FC
3737-9549-8452
I sincerely doubt it, personally. With Project M coming out later--which, I hear, may have a clone engine that will make Almas's obsolete--and with Almas saying (I believe) that he wouldn't port the Wiimote+Nunchuk, you'd be much better off using the other two controller schemes. Sorry, man.
 
Top Bottom