• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Is Roy good for Doubles?

D

Deleted member

Not too long ago, I was at a PM/Melee tournament and I played Doubles with my partner.

I had my match recorded, too.

http://www.youtube.com/watch%3Fv%3DJhujqsk_5Vc&sa=U&ei=2Ej0UpyCOoaSkQeko4DIDA&ved=0CD0QFjAF&usg=AFQjCNHqf7-KAXXzTtWFUPZ6ls6cNwnazQ

Now, I was really wondering if Roy was a viable character for Doubles. I've had somewhat good experiences with him in Doubles friendlies, but I really can't say anything since I have little knowledge when it comes to PM Roy in Doubles.

Have any of you guys had good results when playing him in Doubles? Or is he a lost cause when it comes to 2v2?

CORY

wut
BRoomer
it's a bit late, but i want to say, from my limited knowledge of pm roy, that you should function as a good mobile kill move and harasser, but you're going to be super fragile in a doubles environment, since roy offstage is really sad, so it's doubly sad with another person potentially available to edgeguard.

Ethereal_Sin

Smash Rookie
I'd assume that he can be pretty effective in doubles. Just with the swift killing moves alone that can be thrown out amidst the carnage.

DJ _ICE

Smash Apprentice
I've been pondering for a while with my friend who mains Roy, would Marth + Roy be a good doubles team?

Vigilante

Smash Lord
You need a really good partner to make up for Roy's weaknesses. He's super easy to combo and intercept off stage.