• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Ness's Bair is Better/Safer in Melee

The_NZA

Smash Lord
Hey guys,

I've been playing Ness for 14 years, and as a result, I'm part of a small minority of players that knows what it means to play tournie level Melee Ness (made it out of pools at NSA2). Occasionally, I 'll get this itch that something feels less good. This happened in 3.02 when I felt like Dash attack was still off, and after bringing it up with Gmaster, he was able to confirm that it infact had lower range than in Melee and that was corrected in this patch.

Well, I want to bring up one more itch I had that I decided to test yesterday. I remember in Melee, DJC bair on a shield to dash away was safe from shield grabs. Now, I know in PM it is also safe on the shield of many characters, but it requires a lot of precision depending on the character's grab range. Some characters feel impossible to DJC bair and dash away from, like Marth, but I had an inkling in my head that I was able to get away with it in Melee.

I decided to run some tests and this is what I found:
Melee:
View My Video

PM:
[URL=http://tinypic.com/r/16jrgit/8]View My Video[/URL]

Excuse the sloppiness in the melee execution--I really don't play that game that much anymore. However, notice that I was able to DJC bair and dash away successfully with consistency at the end there. The only times it failed was with an input error (I forgot to fast fall), or because I went way too close to the Marth. Watch the PM footage, and notice that I'm not really able to successfully bair and run away even once.