• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

New to Sonic and PM, advice please.

64powered

Smash Rookie
Hi, I'm pretty new to the competitive side of PM and after playing it casual with a few friends I've decided to go for it and actually learn to play the game. I am competitive in other fighters such as Guilty Gear and Blazblue, so that has helped me with basics and I've put in the time to learn sonic's moveset and applications of those moves(not so much frame data though).

I'm posting this here because I like some advice on how to approach learning the game as sonic, and what I mean is what are sonic's optimal movement options, tips and tricks, how to combo/ ledge guard/ go for the kill(and not kill myself in the process) and how to practice basic mechanics of PM. Any and all input is appreciated. I know about most tech in PM but not how to do it or confirm that I am doing it correctly so you won't need to explain the terminology to me unless i specifically ask (and that will be after I try my best to figure it out for myself). If i could record my games with friends I would and post in the critique thread, but sadly I can not.

Once again thank you all for the help ^_^

Last edited:

Bullys

Smash Apprentice
NNID
bullys23
and how to practice basic mechanics of PM. Any and all input is appreciated. I know about most tech in PM but not how to do it or confirm that I am doing it correctly so you won't need to explain the terminology
I am in a similar boat - and the above really interests me too.