• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

    You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Stage Roster Expansion --COMPLETE--

Four Sword

Smash Cadet
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
36
Location
Europe, the Netherlands
No one has an answer?

It's kind of a big deal for when I take my wii with me to a tourney.
In fact I have one coming up this Saturday; now I could of course turn off the hack for that time being, but I'd rather not.

If anyone has any clue on how to fix the previously stated issue; please share your knowledge with me
 

Four Sword

Smash Cadet
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
36
Location
Europe, the Netherlands
libertyernie,

It is currently

046B8F5C 7C802378
046B8F64 7C6300AE
040AF618 5460083C
040AF68C 38840002
040AF6AC 5463083C
040AF6C0 88030001
040AF6E8 3860FFFF
040AF59C 3860000C
060B91C8 00000018
BFA10014 7CDF3378
7CBE2B78 7C7D1B78
2D05FFFF 418A0014
006B929C 00000010
066B99D8 00000010
00011A0C 280E0D02
0B140F20 241D2108
006B92A4 00000027
066B9A58 00000027
16051110 070A1B1E
27230925 04192215
1F132A2E 1834322D
361C1233 352C2B17
03262F30 31063700
06407AAC 000000A0
01010202 03030404
05050606 07070808
0909330A 0B0B0C0C
0D0D0E0E 130F1410
15111612 17131814
19151C16 1D171E18
1F19201A 211B221C
231D241E 251F2932
2A3A2B34 2C352D36
2F373038 31393233
2E3BFFFF 403D413E
423F4340 44414542
46434744 48454946
4A474B48 4C494D4A
4E014F01 50015101
52015301 54015501
56015701 58015901
5A015B01 5C015D01
5E015F01 60016101
62016301 64016501
E0000000 80008000

Enable random expansion stages v1.1 is NOT in my GCT and only custom0E appears to be giving the problem right now
 

mugwhump

Smash Journeyman
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
382
Thanks cmart, that works.

Does anyone else get freezing sometimes when going back to the CSS from the victory screen? It might just be my crappy hard-drive, but it seems to happen more often with Expansion stages.
 

mario6420072

Smash Cadet
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
25
Location
Spain
I have found a way to use 176x176 ssp images, so it won't be needed to resize images:

If you only use a sc_selmap.pac whose size is bigger than original the game will freeze, but if you replace your custom sc_selmap.pac in the common5.pac too and use wiiscrubber to insert both (the modified common5.pac and sc_selmap.pac) in a .iso the game won't crash. I have tested it only replacing with wiiscrubber and works but I haven't tried the file patch code (although I think it does not work).

Then, my hypotesis is that sc_selmap_en, sc_selcharacter_en and sc_selcharacter2_en are size-dependant (they haven't a real filesize limit). The filesize of all of them should be less than the filesize that each one would occupy in the common5.pac file.
 

Akuma2120

Smash Ace
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
826
A lot of people seem to think the tracklist modifier causes crashing, although I've never had any issues with it. You can give it a try and see if it works for you or not.

The code itself is rather simple, but I'll try to be thorough.

[Tracklist Modifier v1.0]
0610F9BC 00000014
60000000 60000000
3C80811A 7C601B78
608447E7 00000000
4A000000 81000000
301A46F8 6D755072
1417DF44 7CE03B78
1417DF4C 7C0400AE
161A47E8 000000LL << Bytes of data

This part is always the same, except the purple LL. For that part, just count each byte of data that follows in the data section and convert to hex.

00000102 03040607 << Default Stages
08090A0B 0C0D0E0E
0E0E0E0F 10111213
14151515 16171819
1A1B1C1D 1E1F2D2D
2D202122 23242526
2728290A 2D2D2D2D
2D2D2D2D 2D2D2D2D


This part determines what tracklists play on the original stages. The unintuitive part is that you don't specify what stage's music you're changing - that's determined by the order you place the stage IDs in. Right now the stages are in the default order, so you can look up the IDs in the list at the bottom to figure out what "byte" corresponds to each stage. Then simply look up the ID of the stage you want to switch with, and put that number for that byte instead. As an example, if I want to change battlefield's music with Frigate's, I'd see that Battlefield is ID 00 (right at the beginning), and Frigate's is 0C. I'd just change the 00 byte at the beginning to 0C and voila done. It's perfectly fine to have multiple stages use the same tracklist as well, so don't worry about that.

X1X2X3X4 X5X6X7X8 << Custom Stage Tracklists
-------- --------


This part is the same as the above, but for the Custom Stages. They go in order, so STGCUSTOM01 is the first byte, followed by STGCUSTOM02, STCUSTOM03 etc. Again, place the IDs of the stage tracklists you want to play on that stage, and keep filling this part in for however many custom stages you have. If you have a line that ends early, just fill the rest of it in with zeros. Once you're done, count up the bytes in the first section with the bytes in this section (ignoring any filler zeros, but including all the 2D entries) and convert to hex for the LL number above.

E0000000 80008000

And this is the end of the code, don't fool with it. And hey, here's the stage IDs again for completion's sake.

Tracklists:
00 Battlefield
01 Final Destination
02 Delphino
03 Luigi's Mansion
04 Mushroomy Kingdom (1-1)
05 Mushroomy Kingdom (1-2)
06 Mario Circuit
07 75m
08 Rumble Falls
09 Pirate Ship
0A Eldin Bridge
0B Norfair
0C Frigate Orpheon
0D Yoshi's Island
0E Halberd
0F Lylat Cruise
10 Pokemon Stadium 2
11 Spear Pillar
12 Port Town Aero Dive
13 Summit
14 Flat Zone
15 Castle Siege
16 WarioWare, inc.
17 Distant Planet
18 Skyworld
19 Mario Bros.
1A Newpork City
1B Smashville
1C Shadow Moses Island
1D Green Hill Zone
1E Pictochat
1F Hanenbow
20 Temple
21 Yoshi's Island
22 Jungle Japes
23 Onett
24 Green Greens
25 Pokemon Stadium
26 Rainbow Cruise
27 Corneria
28 Big Blue
29 Brinstar
2A Menu
2B Empty
2C Empty
2D Empty

Hopefully that helped somewhat.

I'm still very confused on this, like in this part:


00000102 03040607 << Default Stages
08090A0B 0C0D0E0E
0E0E0E0F 10111213
14151515 16171819
1A1B1C1D 1E1F2D2D
2D202122 23242526
2728290A 2D2D2D2D
2D2D2D2D 2D2D2D2D

Why are there so many 0E's if there's on 1 default halberd stage? And where does Battlefield's ID start when there 4 0's in the beginning? Are the first 2 filler 0's?

Ok let's say I want to change Luigi's mansion tracklist to halberd's, Luigi's mansion is the first 03 digit in there right? so I should just do this right?:


00000102 0E040607 << Default Stages
08090A0B 0C0D0E0E
0E0E0E0F 10111213
14151515 16171819
1A1B1C1D 1E1F2D2D
2D202122 23242526
2728290A 2D2D2D2D
2D2D2D2D 2D2D2D2D


Is this all I have to do is change that one digit? in the first line?



Then my next question is, why are there X's in the custom stage tracklist?:

X1X2X3X4 X5X6X7X8

Do you leave those X's alone? Let's say I want STGCUSTOM1 to have halberd's tracklist, would I just do this?:


XEX2X3X4 X5X6X7X8
 

Akuma2120

Smash Ace
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
826
X isn't a hex value, something needs to go there.
Thanks, but why are there multiple lists for halberd's tracklist in the default stages? 0E is listed multiple times, say I would want it to load a different tracklist, would I have to replace them all?
 

Dantarion

Smash Champion
Joined
May 21, 2007
Messages
2,492
Location
Santa Barbara, CA
I have found a way to use 176x176 ssp images, so it won't be needed to resize images:

If you only use a sc_selmap.pac whose size is bigger than original the game will freeze, but if you replace your custom sc_selmap.pac in the common5.pac too and use wiiscrubber to insert both (the modified common5.pac and sc_selmap.pac) in a .iso the game won't crash. I have tested it only replacing with wiiscrubber and works but I haven't tried the file patch code (although I think it does not work).

Then, my hypotesis is that sc_selmap_en, sc_selcharacter_en and sc_selcharacter2_en are size-dependant (they haven't a real filesize limit). The filesize of all of them should be less than the filesize that each one would occupy in the common5.pac file.
:D I think this guy is onto something important.
 

cmart

Smash Lord
Joined
May 2, 2005
Messages
1,100
Location
Savage, MD
Thanks, but why are there multiple lists for halberd's tracklist in the default stages? 0E is listed multiple times, say I would want it to load a different tracklist, would I have to replace them all?
Bizarrely, I never noticed that some numbers are repeated like that. I wonder what exactly they control...
 

mugwhump

Smash Journeyman
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
382
Hey, I downloaded a Snakeman stage based on FD. It came with a .rel to make it go over Flat Zone so everything would be 2D.

Is there a way to get the 2D effect on a custom stage? I'm using the FD .rel, but everything's 3D there (it obviously doesn't work over the Flat zone .rel).

edit: VVVVV no, I mean I used the "st_custom for Flat Zone 2.rel" and it didn't work.
 

blerb

Smash Journeyman
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
365
Location
Nowhere, Ontario
Sure. Just find a Flat Zone .rel patched to work for custom stages. That should work.

There's a pack of them a few pages back.

Guy12425815 said:
What that dude said about filesizes
Has anyone tried this out?
 

Akuma2120

Smash Ace
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
826
Bizarrely, I never noticed that some numbers are repeated like that. I wonder what exactly they control...
Maybe they're the missing tracklists? Because some aren't listed in the default stages of the code, for example:

00000102 03040607 << Default Stages
08090A0B 0C0D0E0E
0E0E0E0F 10111213
14151515 16171819
1A1B1C1D 1E1F2D2D
2D202122 23242526
2728290A 2D2D2D2D
2D2D2D2D 2D2D2D2D
NO WHERE in that block is there an 05 for the MK - Underground stage, was this written wrong or is it really just not there? I wanted to replace that stages tracklist with PTAD's to get 12 songs on it :(
 

cmart

Smash Lord
Joined
May 2, 2005
Messages
1,100
Location
Savage, MD
That sounds like a good bet actually. I might just go through and swap out ALL the Halberds with different tracklists and see what changes to what... I'll give that a shot tomorrow
 

Akuma2120

Smash Ace
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
826
Hm, now I`m thinking it might be for regular stages too, I know that the ID for the MK above ground level is in there but when I tried to replace it, nothing happened, I tried a few stages ahead and behind it and nothing seems to have changed, it`s like the 04 in that block does absolutely nothing...

I tried that last night before I went to bed, I don`t have much time since I have to wake up at 4 for work
 

Akuma2120

Smash Ace
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
826
Just ran a quick test, those extra IDs for Halberd and Castle Siege as far as I can tell do not affect other stages, I only checked out like 10 but I'm guessing the rest were the same

This means you absolutely cannot change the playlist for the Mushroom Kingdom levels, I got a bunch of mario songs together for nothing >_>

EDIT: Damnit, stupid computer, can some mod merge my posts please?
 

TCRhade

Smash Champion
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
2,829
Location
Quebec, Canada
NNID
TabuuForte
Okay... why did playing on a custom stage in slow-mo in Traning mode cause my game to Silent Crash?
 

TCRhade

Smash Champion
Joined
Jan 10, 2008
Messages
2,829
Location
Quebec, Canada
NNID
TabuuForte
It's all the info I got, Yosh... I just left it there unattended to get more pics for my selmap.pac and when I came back, it was frozen stiff, but the music was still playing normally.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2005
Messages
620
Location
Miami, Florida
Ive got a crazy question/idea.

What if I were to make a STGCUSTOM using Spear Pillar's rel (st_tengan.rel) and name the files STGCUSTOM##_01, STGCUSTOM##_02 and STGCUSTOM##_03.

Does the SRE support this?
 

MechaWave

Smash Champion
Joined
Jun 3, 2009
Messages
2,227
I posted this like 3 times in separate threads and have yet to recieve an answer. Seriously, this is ridiculous.

1. When I want to add a stage that has its own REL file associated with it (instead of the expansion code ones) the game freezes, such as Blue Moon Battleship (first at top). This irritates me, especially when most of the good stages have them. Is there a workaround?

2. How can I change the music on the custom stages?
 

Thany

Smash Journeyman
Joined
Feb 19, 2010
Messages
240
Location
Off to a distant place
@MechaWave

I think I can help you with problem 2.

I have two stages that are from the Brawl+ download I got a while back. One is the "SSE Jungle" and the other is a smaller, decrepit version of Hyrule Temple.

Seeing as these two stages share the same music as Battlefield, by changing one of battlefields' tunes to something else, it effects the music on those stages as well, seeing as how they share it.

Hope that helps <:3
 

RedSoul77

Smash Rookie
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
14
For the .rel issue, you either have to guess which stage the stage was originally built over and then use stage switcher, or hex it over a custom stage yourself (Neither of which are really that hard). Blue Moon Battleship, for example, is probably made over final destination like most stages, even though it comes with a pirate ship .rel.

As for music: http://www.smashboards.com/showthread.php?t=290659&page=17
 

MechaWave

Smash Champion
Joined
Jun 3, 2009
Messages
2,227
For the .rel issue, you either have to guess which stage the stage was originally built over and then use stage switcher, or hex it over a custom stage yourself (Neither of which are really that hard). Blue Moon Battleship, for example, is probably made over final destination like most stages, even though it comes with a pirate ship .rel.
Well the Stage Switcher confuses me. Can you show me how to do it (either way is fine.)
 

RedSoul77

Smash Rookie
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
14
I generally find hexing module files more reliable. Just open the .rel you got with the stage in a hex editor (I'd recommend HXD) and search for this string:

38 A5 00 00 38 80 00 __

Then change the value after the 00 to the value you want depending on the stage you want to replace. Custom stages use a second 00 as the value. Also, pretty sure a couple of stages have this string in their .rel more than once so make sure you change them all.

Edit: http://ssbbcustom.wikia.com/wiki/Module_files

Everything you need is there.
 

MechaWave

Smash Champion
Joined
Jun 3, 2009
Messages
2,227
So sorry for double posting but I have two more questions >___>

1) I have all the essential codes: File Replacement 2.5.1, Stage Expansion 2.0, and Maxed SSS. I got the tutorial MiscData80 file which already has the PAT0 placement for adding icons done, so all I had to do was replace everything. Well I did and yet none of my custom icons appear. Why?

2) I did the 38 A5 00 00 38 80 00 XX thing and replaced XX with 00 and it worked on every single stage that didn't have it already as 00. However some RELs already have it set as 00 already and I assumed it would work nonetheless. But it didn't. An example is the KC-MM Club, it gives the annoying beep sound. What can I do to make it work?
 

MechaWave

Smash Champion
Joined
Jun 3, 2009
Messages
2,227
Okay... that doesn't really help me. And please tell me how to fix the images. =_='
 

mugwhump

Smash Journeyman
Joined
May 22, 2007
Messages
382
MechaWave, I'm using KK-MM City and it works fine. You're using the st_custom for 75m.rel, right?

Hey, I downloaded a Snakeman stage based on FD. It came with a .rel to make it go over Flat Zone so everything would be 2D.

Is there a way to get the 2D effect on a custom stage? I'm using the custom FD .rel, but everything's 3D there (it obviously doesn't work over the "st_custom for Flat Zone 2.rel")
So yeah, anybody know if there's a way to do this?


One more question: is there a way to choose which expansion stages are part of the random selection? :bee:
 
Top Bottom