• Welcome to Smashboards, the world's largest Super Smash Brothers community! Over 250,000 Smash Bros. fans from around the world have come to discuss these great games in over 19 million posts!

You are currently viewing our boards as a visitor. Click here to sign up right now and start on your path in the Smash community!

Toon Link Matchup Rediscussion #14: Fox

Radori Nighthawk

Smash Apprentice
FINALLY FIRST POST!

Hmm I have some experience with this matchup but I haven't really analyzed it until this post.

One thng I can say is that WATCH OUT FOR UP SMASH. That move KO's at around 95%. O___O
Also, WATCH OUT FOR DAIR. If he connects with a dair an up tilt chain will come next at low percentages.

Our bair ***** Fox....hard as does our zair. One bair at low percent can = up to 70% for us. He's also REALLY light so your usual killing trouble doesn't hinder us much here. His SHL and SHDL aren't really a problem but keep your eyes open for it. He also has a reflector. It can get annoying.

His recovery is predicatible. Not meaning gimpable just readible. Read the illusion and punish and if he even THINKS about an UpB read and punish and possibly dair him to hell. Shine spike IS STILL ALIVE HERE IN BRAWL so don't forget about that. Charged arrows stop the illusion btw.

Fox has amazing mindgame potential due to his blinding speed. He can do aerials for seemingly no reason to make you think that he's open when all and all, he's not. For instance, him doing a retreating bair into a quick dash attack or even a hypen smash. His dash attack is not to be taken lightly. I've noticed that if Fox hits with the weak spot of his nair then a quick dash attack will connect. SH'd shine (mindgames) nair after it to quick dash attack. It's really fun to watch him move. It's a surprise what he's gonna do next.

I sum this up to be a 55/45 us or a 50/50 . We don't have trouble klling him and out projectiles can lead to sick setups.

copacetic

Smash Journeyman